Lanka Japan Friendship Society Hold Their 58th AGM

The Lanka Japan Friendship Society (LJFS) held their 58th Annual General Meeting at the Sasakawa Hall at 6pm on 30th June 2017 with Mr. Sumana Liyanage, President in the Chair. The Patron of the Society, His Excellency Kenichi Suganuma and Madame Akiko Suganama were in attendance.
Mr. Sumana Liyanage the outgoing President, thanked the Executive Committee and the general membership for the co-operation extended to him, during the last 3 years and requested that the same co-operation be extended to the new President elect Mr. Rajah Sinnathuray who would be taking over from him.
The names of the following persons were then announced as the new office bearers elected for 2017/2018:
His Excellency Kenichi Suganama,
Ambassador for Japan in Sri Lanka
Vice Patrons:
Mr. Daya Weththasinghe
Mrs. Lalitha Rajapaksa
Mr. Sumana D. Liyanage
Mr. Shungo Yoshioka
Rajah Sinnathuray
Vice Presidents:
Dr. Vijaya Corea
Upali S. Jayasekera
Merrick Gooneratne
Chandra Jayatilleka
Hony. General Secretary:
Chandra Jayatilleka
Hony. Treasurer:
Rukshan Perera
Hony. Assistant Secretary:
Lal C. Wewala
Hony. Assistant Treasurer/ Website coordinator:
M.D. (Tony) Saldin
Executive Committee:
A. Anandagoda
Jayaraja Chandrasekera
Lal De Alwis
Dr. P.H.P de Silva
Mahendra De Vaz
Vinnie Gunaratne
W.I. Gunawardene
Dr. Gaminda Haegoda
Janneth Ismail
M.M. Kanaka
Harindra Rodrigo
Shelly Thenuwara
Manoranjan Wijebahu
Ms. Himani Wijemanna Mrs. Sunitha Wijepala
Japanese embassy representatives:
Mr. Masaki Takaoka, 1st Secretary
Mr. Yusuke Tanaka, 3rd Secretary
The official sessions were terminated for a group photograph of the EXCO with His Excellency the Ambassador, after which Members were free to network, socialize and partake of the sumptuous buffet dinner.